Skip to content

Second Offense DUI in Tennessee

Second Offense DUI in Tennessee

Your first DUI in Tennessee is a serious offense, with many serious consequences. If you are arrested for a second DUI within 10 years of your first arrest, you face even greater penalties, fines and other considerations like jail time and license suspension. It’s important to know what you are facing. Not only do you face criminal penalties, you face administrative and potential civil penalties.

Criminal Penalties

For a second DUI in Tennessee, you must spend a minimum of 45 days in jail, but you could potentially spend 11 months and 29 days in jail.

You will be fined $600 up to $3,500. You may have to forfeit your vehicle to the State. If the second DUI came within five years of the first, then you will be required to have an ignition interlock for six months after you get your license back. You will have to attend a state approved DUI school, at your expense. The court may also require you to attend a drug or alcohol program, again, at your expense. You may be sentenced to more community service hours, at the judge’s discretion.

Administrative Penalties

For a second DUI, your license will be revoked for two years. You will have to pay an additional fee to reinstate your license, and you will be required to take a driving test. You are eligible for a restricted license, but only if you install and maintain an ignition interlock device on any car you drive.

If you managed to save your career or professional license from the first DUI, the second one will most likely affect the status of your job. Most employers have strict hiring policies against people who have one DUI.

Additional Penalties

In addition, your auto insurance company could cancel your policy or at least require that you maintain a high-risk policy. At the very least, you will face an increase in premiums. The monetary costs of a second DUI can add up, when you consider court costs, bail, towing fees, impound fees and attorney’s fees.

If you have been arrested for a 2d Offense DUI in Tennessee, you should consult an experienced Tennessee DUI attorney to help you find the best possible solution for your situation. Contact an advocate who will devote personal time to present the facts and information you need to make an informed decision about your future.

Posted in